Himalayas – Kumaon – Photo Gallery

Awareness - Sunset in Himalayas

The Kumaon Himalayas comprise the west-central section of the Himalayas in northern India . They extend some 320 kms from the Sutlej River to the Kali River. The range, consists partly of the Shivalik Range in the south and the Great Himalayas in the north. Kumaon is a a division of the state of Uttarakhand. Nanda Devi, the highest peak in the range, rises to 25,646 feet (7,817 metres). At elevations above 14,000 feet (4,300 metres), snow covers the mountains almost throughout the year. Glaciers and snowmelt feed the headstreams of the Ganga.

The state of Uttarakhand comprise Kumaon and Garhwal. It has long been referred to as Dev Bhoomi. The mountain peaks and the landscapes have an irresistible appeal. The many sacred places of pilgrimage have their own compelling attraction. Legends and stories weave a magic. Kumaon  beckons.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.